X-ray Crystallography Laboratory

The X-ray Crystallography Laboratory facility is administered by Lumigen Instrument Center. Within this laboratory, there are two x-ray powder diffractometers (Bruker D2 Phaser and Bruker D8 Advance) used for powder and thin-film material characterization, a single-crystal x-ray diffractometer (Bruker D8 Venture) for chemical crystallography, an Energy Dispersive X-ray Fluorescence Spectrometer (Shimadzu EDX-7000) for bulk elemental analysis, and a UV-vis and X-ray Photoelectron Spectrometer (Thermo Fisher Scientific Nexsa) for elemental and chemical surface analysis.

Drs. Cassie Ward and Sameera Perera are the managers and are responsible for training, instrument service and maintenance, safety, fee-for-service analysis, and laboratory policy.


Laboratory hours are 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for services and training. Trained approved users have 24/7 card access.


A. Paul Schaap Chemistry Building, Room 50.1



View documentation for: